Halfway to 50!

Twenty somethings unite!

How Would You Spend a Snow Day? February 2, 2011


I swear we teachers work all year for one coveted reason: The snow day.  If you teach in the midwest you’re almost guaranteed one of these throughout the winter.  Today, February 2nd, was our first snow day. 

One very snowy day!

It started with us dismissing students early yesterday.  I got home around 3:00 and immediately grabbed a Diet Coke, made a peanut butter and jelly sandwich, put on sweat pants, and plopped down on the couch.  Sigh.  This is what I’ve been waiting for.  I couldn’t wait to watch Oprah for the first time since August and veg out on my comfy couch. 

I did this for about 3 hours.  I surfed Facebook, read blogs, attempted some graduate homework, and called my mom to wish her a happy birthday.  The only reason I got up from the couch around 6:00 was to eat.  I heated up some leftover pizza and plopped back down on the couch.  This pizza was especially delicious because I did not go to the gym today.  I usually go 3-4 times per week and happily missed today because of the deteriorating road conditions (and they cancelled my class.)  For some reason, crappy food tastes so much better if you haven’t worked out.  I tend to feel guilty if I cram tasty high-calorie food into my mouth directly following a sweaty cardio blast.  But not today.  Today the pizza tasted magical!

I continued with my evening by watching Beverly Hills Housewives Reunion and Teen Mom 2.  What a great evening!  Although I didn’t exert much energy all evening, I still managed to fall asleep quickly.  I slept in this morning until multiple snowblowers woke me up.  What is it with men and snowblowers?  Do snowblowers not work as well after 10:00 in the morning? 

This morning I walked into the living room and noticed my butt imprint in the couch from yesterday.  I happily settled back into my place and put my feet up.  My plans for the day include TV, cleaning, graduate homework, and eating.  I got to thinking, how did I spend my snow days when I was a kid?

If I was 10 instead of halfway to 50, I would have woken up 3 hours earlier, gobbled up some Frosted Flakes and got dressed to go outside.  I would have called all my neighborhood friends and met them on the hill for sledding.  We would have come home for food and water and gone back out. 

Now…. I stare out the window at the blustery conditions and shiver.  You could not pay me to go out there.  Even if I had no food in the house, I think I would start eating couch cushions before I would venture out for food.  Oh how the times have changed. 

I’m open to suggestions on how to spend my snow day today.  If you’re also enjoying one, tell me what you’ll be doing.  If you are longing for a snow day, tell me how you’d spend it.  Lord knows I’ll have time today to check your responses frequently!

Now if you’ll excuse me, I need to get back to my lazy snow day.

 

3 Responses to “How Would You Spend a Snow Day?”

  1. Well your day yesterday sounded very much like mine, aside for the television show selection…Oprah? Hopefully she doesn’t read this. I’m in Chicago and she scares me!

    Anyway, today I did venture outside because I’m a weather nerd and had to walk around in the snow and snap some pictures. Then back inside to work. It was kind of a half snow day for me. I couldn’t go to the office, and then management told us not to log on so we didn’t overload the system (most of the company was working from home too), SO I just had to be attached to my blackberry all day. Just a little while ago I went outside and there was civilization finally! Starbucks was opened, the store was opened, and people were out on the sidewalks. Earlier it was like Armageddon! Now I’m done with work so I’m vegging and watching TV the rest of the night and I’m really looking forward to it!

  2. indyink Says:

    This made me smile. I’ve so been there.

    I live in rural TN, and it’s tempting to spend our few snow days on the couch. When it snowed last month, I put on the gloves and goose-down Lands End coat and went outside with my Nikon in hand… alone. I made it 30 minutes before returning to the couch.

    Perhaps the reason most people spend snow days inside now is they are isolated. Most relationships are maintained on the web, rather than in person, and that has limits. When it snows, you can’t stand in your yard with your Facebook friends list and have a good, old-fashioned snowball fight.

    We’re missing out, aren’t we?

  3. We had 4 snow days this week, and it’s still not looking good for Monday. I’ve been writing my ass off–on my blog, on my NANOWRIMO novel revision, and frequent Facebook posts. Also, my cats are driving me insane. Fun post!


Leave a Reply

