Halfway to 50!

Twenty somethings unite!

Bars, Movies, or Video Games? January 2, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — halfwayto50 @ 12:23 am
Tags: , , , , , , ,

I woke up refreshed, alert, and eager to start 1-1-11!  Not everyone can say that today.  In fact most people who are halfway to 50 (or near there) probably woke up sick, hungover, and trying to figure out a way to get to the car they left in the bar parking lot.  Why was I different?  Well someone had to take my halfway to 50 husband home last night  after a long game of quarters.  Don’t go feeling sorry for me though, this was the plan we prepared earlier in the day.  I wasn’t feeling like drinking that night- no it was more like I didn’t want to be sick the next day, so I volunteered myself to be the DD for my hubbie. 

 The night started off with good friends, light chats about how the holidays went, and a counter filled with a variety of boozes that I continued to politely decline every 15 minutes or so.  “But we have room for you to stay if you want,” they encouraged.  It was a kind gesture, but I think when you’re halfway to 50 the idea of passing out a friend’s house because you can’t safely drive home isn’t as cute as it used to be.  To be honest, what I was looking forward to the most at this New Year’s party didn’t look like it was going to happen- playing “Just Dance 2” on the Wii.  WHAT??? I know, I know, I’m halfway to 50 and incredibly excited about playing a video game, oh I mean, incredibly challenging yet fun cardio packed dance challenge!  But if you have ever played it, you know.  It provides you with a blueprint of dance steps that, once mastered, allow you to appear coordinated and talented!  Because you don’t know me, you don’t know that I really have nothing that I consider myself talented at.  You know how they always ask that question in interviews, “What are you good at, what are your talents?”  I usually stare at them blank and come up with the old stand by… “I’m a great listener.”  Pssh!  I’m a terrible listener!  Once my husband starts to tell me about work I soon begin to think about that show that’s on tonight and how I haven’t set our DVR to record it yet.  I’m terrible.  It’s something I’m working on. 

Anyway, back to “Just Dance 2.”  I have discovered that I’m actually talented at playing this game.  After a couple of times through each song, I can pretty much do it from memory.  I knew this house we were going to had a Wii and the game I had grown to love.  I happily packed our 2 controllers from home so that 4 people could dance at once (4 people!) and proudly placed them on the table when we arrived at the party announcing my excitement for the game!  The hours ticked by…. I declined about 4 drinks at this point…. and even threw the quarter for my husband because he could sense my unrest.  It was midnight.  We cheered, blew noise makers, and kissed our significant others.  Then we realized we had forgotten our champagne toast that we talked about and did a midnight “do-over.”  Hey, we’re halfway to 50’s, it happens.  People began to gather their things and hinted at heading home for the night when finally- it happened.  Someone suggested playing “Just Dance 2” and everyone put their things down.  We danced for about an hour and had a blast!  Thank goodness we got to play!  For without that last hour of dancing, I may have considered the New Year’s of 2011 a disappointment. 

Being a halfway to 50 is confusing, especially at New Year’s.  Do we go to a bar and get hammered followed by an expensive cab ride home?  Nope, we’re cheap and the packed bar is a little too noisy.  Do we stay in and watch a movie?  No, that’s what old people do who have no plans.  We go to our friend’s house, have a glass of champagne at midnight, and then dance along with a video game.  Is this a perfect New Year’s Eve for all halfway to 50’s?  No.  But it was perfect for me.  Happy 2011!

 

One Response to “Bars, Movies, or Video Games?”

  1. Sounds like an awesome NYE celebration. I’m closer to 50 than you (but still closer to you than to 50) and we stayed in! GAH But that’s only because we normally celebrate with neighbors (fireman & nurse – how cliche!) and they were both working. And there’s nothing wrong with being excited to play a video game. 🙂


Leave a Reply

